General Information


March 2015 - March 2017

(2-year terms)

      President           Roy Owens  (Owens-Corning)
      Vice President           Glenn England (ENVIRON)
      Secretary           Angela Hansen (AmTest Air Quality)
      Treasurer           Robin Segall (US EPA)
     Editor            Gail Westlin (Air Tech Environmental)


SES Board of Directors


Jason Bouwman (NWCAA)        1 Year (through March 2017)
Steffan Johnson (US EPA)         2 Years (Through March 2018)
Tina Sanderson (Ortech)          3 Years (through March 2019)
Bob Finken (Montrose)         Until a New President is elected


SES Committee Members

Committee          Chairperson
Safety         David Elam
Ethics         Steffan Johnson
Data Quality         Jon Hays
Awards & Scholarship         Peter Westlin
Web Site         David Eckard
QSTI/QSTO Program         Peter Westlin and Glenn England
Membership         Sean Warden
Matthew S. DeVito Award         Roy Owens
Conference Steering        Bob Finken
Privatization of the EPA   
Stationary Source Audit Program (SSAP)   
    Jim Serne
Outreach        Jason Bouwman
Rules & Constitution        Steffan Johnson
ERT Improvement        Natalie Hornsby


SES Hall of Fame Members

as of 2016

Roger Shigehara 1986 Keith Curtis 2000
Walter Smith 1986 Matthew S. Devito 2001
Billy Mullins 1988 Jim Jahnke 2002
Ronald Ostendorf 1988 Michael W. Hartman 2003
Gene Wellman 1989 Richard H. Russell 2004
William DeWees 1990 Robert Finken 2005
Charles Duncan 1990 Jim Craigmile 2006
Fred Hopton 1990 Glenn England 2007
Gene Riley 1992 Lesley Sloss 2008
George Walsh 1992 Tom Baldwin 2009
Peter Westlin 1992 Roy Owens 2010
James Peeler 1993 Scott Evans 2011
Howard Schiff 1993 Yves Tondeur 2012
Tony Eggleston 1994 Bill Walker 2013
Victor Hanson 1996 Laura Kinner 2014
Thomas Rose 1997 Jim Serne 2015
Mike Fogle 1998 Angela Hansen 2016
Robin Segall 1999    


The Matt DeVito Award

The Matthew DeVito award recognizes an individual’s superior ethical conduct and major contributions towards ensuring measurement data quality and representativeness, and the safe implementation of source testing. The procedure the Board established is that an SES member nominates a candidate by letter and includes a justification statement. The nominee does not have to be a SES member. Nominations should describe the nominee and how that person embodies the principles of quality, integrity, safety, and an ethical approach toward stack sampling. Send your detailed nomination for the Matthew S. DeVito Award to the attention of Roy Owens by January 15 of each year.

Past Recipients of Matthew DeVito Award:

  • Gene Riley, 2002
  • Peter Westlin, 2005
  • Dave Curtis, 2007
  • Mike Hartman, 2009
  • David Bagwell, 2011
  • Mike Denomme, 2013
  • Mike Fogle, 2014
  • Thomas Graham, 2016


Scholarship Programs